Spring break has sprung here with the end of school on Friday. The fun of “movie and popcorn day” was accompanied by the anticipation of a week of freedom. Shouts of “I’m going to the Cayman Islands, Disney and Hawaii” floated around my son’s classroom. My son jubilantly joined in by shouting out [well maybe it was more of an embarrassed whisper] his hometown. Yes. We are having a stay-cation. This idea was met with much disappointment. I did mention at the beginning of the year the idea of driving to DC with the kids for break, but the 7 hour drive alone and the fact that we visited DC this fall for a family event, made the idea much less appealing now and I did not follow through.

The kids’ displeasure with the idea of staying home struck a chord with me. How quickly the memories fade. Did we not just go away for a ski trip February break? Is it a sign of being over privileged, over indulged… or the dreaded word… spoiled?

I think that it means that we have lost touch with being grateful.

We used to spend time during our family dinners going around the table sharing things that we were grateful for or something good that happened during the day. With the craziness of after school activities, our dinners are more hurried and harried and this conscious act of remembering to be grateful went out the door with us following at break neck speed to get to the next event.

I have really been looking forward to this change in routine. We all need some time to slow down. The kids and I will find time to ride bikes, swim and connect during this luxurious week off and I will make sure to reinstate some daily gratefulness.

As fate would have it, I happened upon a fabulous website this week called Thankful For. What I love about it is that you can program the site to remind you to post something that you are grateful for daily. This personal online journal stores your daily gratitudes and will share them with the public if one desires. It creates a community of people spreading positivity through daily postings of the good things in life. Check it out!

Interestingly, I also found this video on the Happiness Project blog that talks about the small awesome things in life that add to our happiness.

Break or no break. Take some time this week to be grateful for the little things in life. Stop to smell the flowers with some deep yoga breaths and appreciate the moment.

